Zucchini and Quinoa Salad with Mint

Today I made this delicious salad for lunch for Andrew and I, and I am surely adding it to my summer recipe collection. I was inspired while reading my Martha magazine this morning over breakfast. I changed the recipe a little, but most of the credit still goes to the incredible Martha Stewart!

Zucchini Quinoa Salad with Mint
Serves 2

Ingredients:
-Half a medium zucchini sliced thinly
-1/2 cup red onion chopped
-1 small clove garlic sliced thinly
-salt and pepper
-1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
-1 cup sweet potato cubed and boiled (I had this in the fridge so threw it in)
-1/3 cup raw pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
-juice and zest of half a lemon
-1/4 cup packed mint leaves, chopped

Method:

-make the quinoa and cool in a separate bowl
-boil the sweet potato and cool, add to quinoa bowl

-fry up the chopped red onion in a cast iron pan
-add zucchini rounds in pan until browned, about 7 mins
-add garlic and do not let brown, sauté for 30 seconds
-sprinkle with salt and pepper

-add sauté mixture to quinoa and sweet potato in bowl
-add in lemon juice and zest, pepitas, and mint, stir
-serve and enjoy!

Please let me know what you think if you try this out!

Happy and healthy cooking!

20130815-203749.jpg

Leave a Reply

