Homemade Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese

Okay, lately I have been craving the food I grew up on. It’s rather interesting! One of my staples growing up was Tomato Soup – of the Campbell’s variety of course! But today I’m much more interested in eating whole, non-prepared foods, so I took this opportunity to work on a basic tomato soup recipe! And it was a success!

I checked my regular go-to blogs as well as a couple go-to cookbooks but none of them had a recipe that matched what I was looking for. Then I found on my shelf a cookbook called ‘Simply Soup’ which my cook-extraordinaire mother-in-law gave us for a wedding shower gift. The very first recipe was for a Basic Tomato Soup and it was perfect.

I adapted that recipe to be not dairy-free, but milk free (but including butter). I’m just not a huge fan of lots of milk in my meals – especially soup. I don’t like the uber-thickness and I don’t feel well after eating it.

Basic Tomato Soup (and Grilled Cheese)

2 tbsp coconut oil
2 small onion chopped
6 medium tomatoes chopped
2 bay leaves
1/4 cup butter
3 tbsp brown rice flour (or other flour)
2 cups almond milk
Salt and pepper
Dried basil

Melt coconut oil in a large soup pot. Add chopped onion and cook over low heat 6 mins. Add tomatoes and bay leaves and cook for 15 mins until pulpy, stirring occasionally.

Melt butter in another smaller pot. Add flour and cook, stirring constantly for 1 min. Remove pan from heat and stir in milk. Return to heat and season with salt and pepper and bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Continue to cook until smooth and thickened, stirring often.

When tomatoes are pulpy, remove pan from heat and let cool slightly. Discard bay leaves and pour tomato mixture into blender. Process until smooth, 2 mins (you may have to do in batches). Put back in pot and bring to a boil. Stir in milk mixture and season to taste with salt, pepper and dried basil. Ladle into warm bowls and garnish with fresh basil if you have some!

Grilled Cheese

1/2 tbsp butter
2 brown rice tortillas (I used whole wheat this time, but usually prefer rice)
1/3 cup sharp cheddar cheese grated
1/3 cup chopped tomato
Dried basil

Melt butter in a skillet, put down first tortilla. Layer with cheese, tomato and dried basil. Put second tortilla on top. Heat through until cheese melts, 4 mins. Flip for another min to brown other side. Cut into 4 pieces and serve with soup!

20140120-175652.jpg

20140120-175736.jpg

20140120-175754.jpg

20140120-175810.jpg

20140120-175826.jpg

2 thoughts on “Homemade Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

