Pregnancy Cravings, a Blast From The Past

This whole pregnancy craving experience has been rather interesting over here.  I don’t think it’s common because no one I’ve talked to has had the same experience, but I have been craving food that is very specifically from my childhood and growing up years.  Let me share more.

It has indeed happened where I will be walking down the street, a craving will come over me, and I will realize the next moment that I indeed frequently ate that item growing up.  I also, have had relevations on the street, remembering foods that I have not thought of in years, and how my mom used to prepare them for me.  Some people have suggested this may have to do with my body craving comfort in it’s transient state.

Let me share with you some of these foods.  I believe I’ve caught this pattern because I don’t eat these foods much at all anymore, and well, in the words of my husband, some of them are ‘strange’.

My cravings originating in childhood include:

-cottage cheese and pineapple chunks mixed together

-campbell’s tomato soup with saltine’s mashed in there, like incredibly jammed packed with crackers, it’s not even liquid anymore

-grilled cheese (I ate this until I was married as a pretty huge staple in my life – so sad)

-macaroni and cheese, who didn’t eat this as a child?  definitely not so strange

-noodle doodle.  If you know me from childhood, you know what this is.  Macaroni noodles, tomato sauce and ground beef!!!  YUM

-fig newtons

-full sour kosher pickles (fermented)

-feta cheese, and especially cheese and crackers

-lemon cake

-apple sauce (sometimes by the jar)

-custard

-gummies – I think from the days of penny candies and fruit wrinkles?

-and the latest one is putting icing sugar and lemon juice (from the bottle) on my pancakes!  This was insane to me, it felt so long ago that I used to do this.

-ice cream – typical!

Above is my list of cravings.  It has been an interesting attempt to satisfy these using the ingredients I cook with today and my current food and eating philosophies.  But I have made it work!  And so, beside, is what i’ve come up with.

My cravings as played out in 2014 (as a foodie and nutritional nerd):

-cottage cheese and pineapple chunks mixed together – I try to stay away from dairy, but have worked flexibility into my life in this respect since becoming pregnant.  Regardless, cottage cheese bothers my skin, making it dry and prone to breakouts.  I will eat pineapple and other tropical fruit a bunch and a scoop of cottage cheese here and there.

-campbell’s tomato soup with saltine’s mashed in there, like incredibly jammed packed with crackers, it’s not even liquid anymore – I made my own homemade and dairy free tomato soup!  So tasty.  I posted about it here.

-grilled cheese – I eat cheese, but not everyday and in small quantities.  I figure it’s good protein and I love the taste.  For a week or two there I made a few grilled cheeses with gluten-free or whole grain bread, SO TASTY!  See the above post with the tomato soup.

-macaroni and cheese – Andrew makes me the BEST gourmet mac in cheese (the long way) with gluten free pasta and lots of vegetables like broccoli and kale inside and goat cheese.  Goat cheese is easier on my stomach and digestion.

-noodle doodle – made it yesterday with gluten free noodles and ground beef from Rowe Farms down the street.  IMPECCABLE! I could eat it ALL DAY.

-fig newtons – I have not attempted to satisfy this craving as of yet.  But next time i’m at the health food store i’ll look for a gluten free, refined-sugar free option. Mmmmm.

-full sour kosher pickles (fermented) – My parents buy me these from Costco.  Jars and Jars.  No amendments here!

-feta cheese, and especially cheese and crackers – gluten free crackers, and again cheese, but not often.

-lemon cake – Joyous Health Lemon Poppy Seed cake!  (sorry, it’s not online yet, only in her new cookbook!)

-apple sauce (sometimes by the jar) – no modifications needed except we buy organic or make homemade (which was often done growing up)

-custard – haven’t attempted this one yet, but avocado pudding does VERY well.

-gummies – I came across gluten-free, refined sugar-free, gelatin-free, naturally sweetened gummies at the health food store!  Also, Martha Stewart published a recipe in her last issue! I posted about it here.

-and the latest one is putting icing sugar and lemon juice (from the bottle) on my pancakes!  These are what my pancakes look like today.  NO icing sugar, NO bottled lemon juice.

-ice cream – Two words.  Coconut Bliss.  Bliss it is.

 

To all you who are pregnant, all the best with your cravings!  And the modifications you’ll make. 🙂

Leave a Reply

