Gestating Parenthood

This morning I began a new chapter in the birthing book we’re reading. It’s called ‘Gestating Motherhood’.

I gasped and read this sentence a few times. How incredible a phenomenon and beautiful a transformation.

‘Your successful evolution to parenthood depends largely on your accommodation to the vast changes which are unfolding beyond your control. Learning to accept loss of control is an integral part of birth and motherhood/fatherhood.’

-‘Birthing from Within’, pg 256

And so this morning my prayer is (as it often is);

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. Amen.

Wahoo!! I feel like I’m on a wild roller coaster ride. 🙂 Motherhood, here I come!

2 thoughts on “Gestating Parenthood

  1. This certainly resonates with me – I really felt that as I was awaiting the birth of my first child, I was awaiting the birth of a new me. It was very important to me to acknowledge that as I prepared for this baby to be born, I wasn’t really preparing for this baby specifically. It was for this baby and all of the babies in my future – it was for my future as a mother. I made a baby quilt with all the scraps from my childhood. I had to reconcile the fact that I wouldn’t be able to make a quilt this special for each of my babies, so on it I stitched: “for all my babies, with all my love”. That’s how I feel about the first pregnancy in general – the excitement, the anticipation, the dreams – they’re not just for the baby being born in August, they’re for the entire transfiguration that is about to take place…

    1. Wow, this is incredible Rose. Thanks for sharing!

      Your perspective on preparing for ‘all the babies to come’ is so interesting to me. It made me think about birth order and the classic differences between first, second, third, etc babies. I believe this perspective is incredibly healthy and revolutionary in a way! Thanks so much for it. Preparing for all my babies, however many I end up with.

      Thanks Rose.

Leave a Reply

