Homemade Fig Newtons

When I was little, our house was an Oreo-free zone. But we were allowed fig newtons! Of course, at the time this was super boring for me. 

But now that I’m an adult and parent, I’m finding much joy in bringing back the things of my childhood. Probably also because I love whole, simple, healthy food! My husband and parents (if they were together) would have a comment about how nostalgic I always am…  ðŸ˜‰

So a few nights ago I made my first batch of homemade fig newtons. A good while ago my wonderful mother-in-law bought us some dried figs, and it was high time they got used up.

Here they are! In all their beauty.  Refined sugar free, and can be vegan too!

Before baking:  

My husbands comment was: “there is no way to improve these!”  I was quite honored because he has rather high expectations in the food department. 
And the final product:

  
The process was quite detailed and lengthy, but unbelievably delicious!  Definitely am adding this recipe to my repertoire.

Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Fig Newtons

  1. Wow!! You are amazing!! I wish we could trade gifts – you make me food and I’ll…I’ll…what?! I have nothing to trade for! Never mind!

Leave a Reply

