Hannah’s Story

As a prenatal yoga teacher, I love hearing birth stories and sharing them in my classes. This is the story of my friend’s first birth this past winter.

If you would like to share your own birth story with me, I’d be delighted. I would love to read it in one of my classes or post it to my blog to inspire others. Leave a comment to this post and I will be in touch!

A Magical December Evening

With the incredible support of our birth doula, I laboured in my own house, with my husband, the fire going and great tunes. My husband filled up the birthing pool and kept the temperature just right for when the time was ready to jump in. When I was in active labour, the midwife came, looked at my progress and said it was time to get into the birthing pool. The hardest thing for me was to not push, my entire body was shaking with the effort of not pushing, I had to wait until I was fully dilated. When it was time to push, I found it was a relief, and pushed with all the power I had left (using deep diaphragm breaths) and out popped a beautiful head with lots of dark brown hair floating magically in the water like sea grass. I had to wait until the next contraction to push her all the way out. She was up on my chest in no time & her beautiful cry filled the room. I was 90% convinced our daughter was a boy; we were really surprised when we looked and saw she was a girl! It was a magical evening. One of great strength, endurance, patience and love for myself, our daughter, husband and birthing team. 

Love, Light and Strength,

Megan

Leave a Reply

