J’s Learning Tower

‘Up Mommy, Up!!!!!!!!!!’

That used to be the anthem of my son, along with ‘carry’ or ‘see’.  Now all I say is, “Go get your learning tower and climb up!”

I heard about this learning tower business a while ago from a friend of mine.  You can buy them outright or do an Ikea Hack which is more work, but cheaper overall.  We went for the Ikea Hack.

I bought the stool from Ikea, and then my super handy Brother-In-Law designed and constructed this beautiful tower for my son for Christmas last year.  It has turned out to be one of our most loved and well-used posessions!  Thanks a million Jeff!

And so now, my son participates in my daily home life with me: We love preparing and cooking meals, doing the dishes, making snacks, watering the plants behind the sink, emptying the dishwasher, getting stuff out of the freezer, looking at recipes, etc – we do it all together!!!  Sometimes he will bring over a book or we’ll set up some painting or drawing at the kitchen counter so he can be close to me if he wants.  It works so beautifully.  I feel like I can get a lot done and he feels involved in our home life.

If you’re wondering about the safety bar, it’s on a swivel so it swings around and hooks on the right side (in the picture).

Leave a comment if you’re interested in this tower concept or have any questions.

Much love, light, and safe toddler participation in all the daily tasks of life!

Megan

 

Leave a Reply

