New York, New York


Manhattan, one of my favourite places on the earth!

My little family and I just took a short little jaunt over to the Big Apple for a mini getaway before the new baby comes after Christmas. We had some good times!

The purpose of the trip was pleasure, but as of late, all our trips end up being about two things: coffee and yoga.

I find a studio to take a class or two at and my husband finds a couple, (or 3 or 7) coffee shops to try out.

Since I’m not really the coffee drinking type (I don’t drink it at all actually), I’m going to leave the coffee business out of this post. 🙂

I was blessed to visit two yoga studios on this trip. I thought the first was going to be a prenatal class, but in the end it wasn’t so. It was a kundalini class at Golden Bridge Yoga NYC. They also have a studio in LA. This is the studio founded by Gurmukh, a fantastic prenatal yoga teacher in America. I use her book ‘Bountiful, Beautiful, Blissful’ as a resource in my prenatal classes very often.  It was a joy and honour to practice at one of her studios! The studio was wonderful and truthful, the class was interesting and different than anything I’ve ever done. I’m definitely glad I visited.

The second yoga class I took was a parent and toddler class in Chelsea  (the above photo was taken at the Chelsea high line – so beautiful!) at Karma Kids Yoga. We had the lovely and inspiring Amanda as our teacher and we were happy to have two other kids in the class!

I just began teaching a family yoga series at the studio I work at, so Amanda’s class served as a little R&D for my burgeoning kids/family teaching practice. We practiced to sweet songs and read one of my favourite books for story time at the end – Eric Carle’s ‘From Head to Toe’. I really felt like this class was right up my alley and it was so wonderful to see my son growing his own yoga practice. He learned so much in that 45 minutes that he’s still using today. 🙂

The next day of our trip we spent some time in Brooklyn which has more options for kids yoga. I didn’t want to hijack my son’s NYC experience, so when we asked him if he’d rather do yoga or art, and he picked art, I let go of doing more yoga with him. Hard to do,  but a good thing in the end I think.  We enjoyed an art activity with him at the Brooklyn Children’s Museum, it wasn’t too bad actually.

After three sleeps, it was hard to leave Manhattan, aside from my low back being tired from all the walking!  New York will always be close to my heart, and I still hope one day my family and I can spend an extended period of time there – that has never changed.

Happy Baby-Mooning!

Megan

Leave a Reply

